Community News

Distinguished Service Award honors historical commission

Members of the Franklin County Commissioners Court,  in back - left to right, Sam Young, Charlie Emerson, Scott Lee, Larkin Jumper and Jerry Cooper, presented the Texas State Distinguish Service Award for 2017 to the Franklin County Historical Commission, represented by Joel Dihle, Lillie Bush-Reves, Gail Reed, Jearl and Mary Lou Mowery, Pat Hudson, and Beverly McPherson. The Texas Historical Commission has recognized the Franklin County Historical Commission (FCHC) with the Distinguished Service Award for the 2017 year.

It was formally presented by Judge Scott Lee during the Monday, June 11 meeting of the Franklin County Commissioners Court. The FCHC was one of 86 of Texas’ 254 county commissions to earn this award. For more about this honor, see the June 14 edition of the Mount Vernon Optic-Herald.