Cox is Fire Chief

Jeremy Cox was elected as the Fire Chief for the Mount Vernon Fire Department at their annual election of officers on Monday, July 1. He will assume duties immediately due

to the anticipated transfer of the duties of Franklin County Fire Marshall to current Chief Robert Zinn. Current Fire Marshall Gerry Allen will be retiring this fall. For more information, see the July 11 edition of the Mount Vernon Optic-Herald.