Texas Government

Three new members Texas water board seated

New Members of Texas Water Development Board Take Oath

Gov. Rick Perry today administered the oath of office for three new members of the Texas Water Development Board. Carlos Rubinstein, Bech Bruun and Mary Ann Williamson will serve staggered terms on the newly structured full-time board, with Rubenstein serving as chairman.

“Every available resource we invest in water now is an investment in the future of Texas, and a way to keep our state the best place to live, work, build a business and raise a family,” Gov. Perry said. “By design, these board members have a wide variety of backgrounds, talents and experiences and will work together to determine the best way forward to ensure Texas farmers, employers and homeowners get the water they need to do their jobs.”

A central aspect of the board’s responsibilities will be the management of a special water fund. Members will oversee the structure and operation of the fund, which will be dedicated to implementing the state water plan and prioritizing crucial water projects. This fund will support local and regional water projects and place a special emphasis on conservation and innovative reuse.

With voter approval of a $2 billion investment this November, Texas can fund up to $30 billion in projects over the next 50 years. These measures will help address the increased demand population growth will have on our water needs now and into the future.

Pursuant to House Bill 4 of the 83rd Regular Legislative Session, the board will provide leadership, planning, and financial and technical assistance for the development of an adequate water supply for Texas’ growing population.